GST Bill Will Be Passed by May End Across All States in India


March 30, 2018

GST Will be Passed by May End

Last updated on – May 31, 2017 : Delhi Assembly passes state GST bill in a special session

SGST (State Goods and Service Tax) Bill was passed by eight assemblies (states) across India in the month of April- May as the Centre gears up to roll out the new GST law across India by July.

According to revenue secretary Hasmukh Adhia. addressing a GST Conclave said that all states were expected to pass their SGST law by May-end to ensure that the GST regime was rolled out by July.

Hasmukh Adhia also stated that, “the new GST regime would not have any inflationary effect on the economy since the country would be shifting from multiple-level taxes that had a cascading effect to the GST that would do away with such a scenario and aid in easing inflation.”

Currently the SGST was passed by 8 assemblies (states) across India. Telangana was the first state assembly to pass the SGST Bill on 9th April. Bihar holds second position and it passed the bill on 24th April. In Rajasthan, it was passed on 26 April. Check the list of the states that have successfully passed the SGST bill so far:

S.NO State Date
1 Telangana 9th April
2 Bihar 24th April
3 Rajasthan 26 April
4 Jharkhand 27th April
5 Chhattisgarh 28th April
6 Uttarakhand 2nd May
7 Madhya Pradesh 3rd May
8 Haryana 4th May
9 Maharashtra 10th May

The leftover states (legislative assemblies) are expected to pass the bill before May end. Some leftout states would be approving it next month.

At GST council, finance minister Arun Jaitley had sanctioned the model of SGST Bill in its 12th meeting on 16 March 2017. The next meeting of GST Council will be scheduled on 18- 19 May at Srinagar for fixing the rates of various commodities and it is expected to discuss the fixation of commodities in the four- tier taxation structure under GST regime.

Centre and state tax officials have already launched the programme to spread awareness among people about the new GST law which will replace excise, service tax and various levy by the Central and State Government.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *